IT Best PracticesIT GovernanceProject Portfolio Management

5 Must-Have IT Governance Certifications Everyone Is Talking About

IT governance helps to align IT with your company strategies. COBIT, ISO/IEC 38500, and ITIL help measure project outcomes, comply with the standards and regulations, and bring ROIs. In this article at Business News Daily, Ed Tittel and Mary Kyle discuss the 5 must-have IT governance certifications.

Certifications for Better IT Governance

The authors surveyed several job boards across industries before finalizing on the most popular certifications. The following in-demand certifications require in-depth experience:

  1. ITIL Expert: Information Technology Infrastructure Library is a set of best practices that ensure IT projects and services are in line with the company goals. ITIL helps you meet the ISO/IEC 20000 standards by maintaining high-quality standards for your products. The certification has several levels—ITIL Foundation, ITIL Practitioner, ITIL Intermediate, ITIL Expert, ITIL Master are. Cost per exam is $3,095 to $4,995.
  2. CGEIT: The Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT certification allows professionals to manage, suggest, and ensure IT governance in organizations. Senior security analyst or chief information security officer require this ISACA certification. It includes five domains—enterprise IT framework governance, strategic management, benefits realization, and risk and resource optimization. In the 5-year certification period, you must devote a year to enterprise IT governance frameworks. For the next 4 years, gather expertise in at least two domains. Cost per exam is $575 to $760.
  3. CGRC: Certified in Governance, Risk and Compliance is offered by the GRC Group. Each of the two certifications tiers: base-level and pro-level, consist of four certifications. You must have GRC Group membership and a minimum of 3 years of experience in the field. While you must give exams for the lower-level certifications, CGOV, CIRM, and CICM, you do not need to for CGRC. However, you should earn 12 hours of training and keep updating your GRC membership.
  4. CRISC: Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control is another ISACA certification. It prepares professionals to efficiently manage the risk management program in their organization. IT security analyst, security engineer or architect, information assurance program manager, and senior IT auditor require this certification. IT risk identification, risk assessment, risk response and mitigation, and risk and control monitoring and reporting are the four domains. You must have 3 years of experience in risk management and control and work on 2 domains. Cost per exam is $575 to $760.
  5. PMI-RMP: The PMI Risk Management Professional is for governance, risk, and compliance employees. The certification helps to improve project management abilities and assess and mitigate risks better. Risk strategy and planning, stakeholder engagement, risk process facilitation, risk monitoring and reporting, and specialized risk analysis are the domains. You must pass one exam and maintain the credential by earning 30 PDUs in one or more domains every 3 years. Cost per exam is $520 to $670.

Other notable certifications are GRC Certify’s GRCP, ECI’s LPEC, BCS’s Information Security Management Principles Foundation, and IIA’s CRMA.

To view the original article in full, visit the following link:

Related Articles

Back to top button

We use cookies on our website

We use cookies to give you the best user experience. Please confirm, if you accept our tracking cookies. You can also decline the tracking, so you can continue to visit our website without any data sent to third party services.